Nishith Rahane and Rama Shahapurkar were crowned Mens and Womens  Champions at the Pune District  Tennis  Championships organised by  Pune Metropolitan District Tennis Association  (PMDTA)  and Deccan Gymkhana at the Deccan Gymkhana Tennis Courts.
2nd year commerce student of BMCC College second seeded Nishith Rahane who won the wildcard qualifier for the PMRDA Open ATP Championships earlier in the year upset top seeded  Pranav Gadgil 4-0, 4-2 to lift the Mens Title , In the ladies section  1st year law student of DY Patil College fourth seeded Rama Shahapurkar from PCMC  carved out a 5-3, 4-1  win over  Vaishnavi Singh to win the title. 
The quartet will represent Pune Zone at the State Championships to be held at Solapur later in the month . Winners and Runner up get trophies were given away at the hands of  Ashwin Girme Tennis Secretary ,Deccan Gymkhana and tournament supervisor Sardar Thakur. 
Following are the results: Semifinal Round: Mens:
Pranav Gadgil(1) bt Venkatesh Acharya(4) 4-0,5-4(3)
Nishith Rahane(2) bt Parth Chivate(3) 4-0, 4-0
Final: Nishith Rahane(2) bt Pranav Gadgil(1) 4-0, 4-2
Rama Shahapurkar(4) bt Tanvi Tawade(1) 4-0, 4-2
Vaishnavi Singh bt Aashi Chhajed 4-1, 1-4, 4-0
Final: Rama Shahapurkar(4) bt Vaishnavi Singh 5-3, 4-1